So many exciting book birthdays today!  There’s BLACK ARTS, the new novel in Faith Hunter‘s New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock series, HOWLING FOR YOU, an e-novella in Chloe Neill’s NYT bestselling Chicagoland Vampires series, where we finally get things from Jeff Christopher’s perspective, and GRYPHON PRECINCT, the fourth novel in Keith R.A. DeCandido‘s fantasy police procedural series.  So much goodness!

BlackArts-Cover BLACK ARTS by Faith Hunter

When Evan Trueblood blows into town looking for his wife, Molly, he’s convinced that she came to see her best friend, Jane. But it seems like the witch made it to New Orleans and then disappeared without a trace.

Jane is ready to do whatever it takes to find her friend. Her desperate search leads her deep into a web of black magic and betrayal and into the dark history between vampires and witches. But the closer she draws to Molly, the closer she draws to a new enemy—one who is stranger and more powerful than any she has ever faced.

Praise for the Jane Yellowrock Novels

“Jane’s world is a fully realized one, full of shapeshifters, Native American magic and folklore, baddies that will make your hair stand on end, and a heroine, that, despite her considerable skills, harbors plenty of vulnerability and self-doubt. If you love urban fantasy or just plain wonderful writing and world building, this is the series for you.” —My Bookish Ways

“Jane Yellowrock is smart, sexy, and ruthless.”—New York Times Bestselling Author Kim Harrison

“Seriously. Best urban fantasy I’ve read in years, possibly ever.”—C. E. Murphy, author of Truthseeker

“Jane is the best urban fantasy heroine around.”—Night Owl Reviews

howling for you HOWLING FOR YOU by Chloe Neill

Jeff Christopher is a shapeshifter and ally of Chicago’s Cadogan House of vampires—he’s also a tech whiz and mostly-legal hacker. And the only protective shields he’s never been able to find a way around are those of the powerful Keene Family.For a long time, Jeff has only had eyes for the beautiful Fallon Keene. Unfortunately, she is the only sister of the lethal North American Central Pack Apex Gabriel Keene. The intricate balances of power and politics make it all but impossible for Fallon to trust her feelings.But fate takes a hand when the Pack’s totem is stolen—threatening the Keene family’s rule—and Fallon enlists Jeff’s help to retrieve it before the Pack is thrown into chaos. Can she and Jeff find the totem, and restore order, before it’s too late? And will Jeff finally be able to prove himself to the only person he truly loves?

Includes an exclusive preview of the Chicagoland Vampires novel… WILD THINGS

“These books are wonderful entertainment.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

“A wonderfully compelling vampire heroine.”—USA Today Bestselling Author Julie Kenner

“A strong minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.”—Library Journal

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.”—Geek Monthly

gryphonprecinct GRYPHON PRECINCT by Keith R.A. DeCandido

Humans and elves, dwarves and gnomes, wizards and warriors all live and do business in the thriving, overcrowded port city of Cliff’s End, to say nothing of the tourists and travelers who arrive by land and sea, passing through the metropolis on matters of business or pleasure-or on quests. The hard-working, under-appreciated officers of the Cliff’s End Castle Guard work day and night to maintain law and order as best they can.

Cliff’s End is rocked by the death of Lord Albin. As soon as the funeral ends, Albin’s son Blayk takes over and starts instituting wholesale changes in how the Cliff’s End Castle Guard is run: enforced retirements of older guards (including Captain Osric), surprise promotions (including Grovis to replace Osric as Captain of the Guard), sword requalifications for all guards, and much more. Worse, Blayk has split up Lieutenants Torin ban Wyvald and Danthres Tresyllione and given them new partners. Lieutenant Dru, still devastated by the loss of Lieutenant Hawk, also has a new partner.

All three detectives catch separate cases, but the more they investigate, the more they realize that all three are related – and connected to a conspiracy that targets the King and Queen themselves!

Praise for the Precinct novels:

“All in all, this is a fascinating excursion in genre-bending; it’s worth a try even for readers who usually take either their procedurals or their fantasies unadulterated.” -Booklist

“Beneath the swords and sorcery is a well-constructed set of hardboiled mysteries; Dragnet in a Dungeons and Dragons setting. Keith DeCandido’s first original novel (he has written several tie-ins) is a well-paced, entertaining read.” – Reviewing the Evidence

Also, Amy Christine Parker (author of the acclaimed YA thriller GATED) and I got together over the weekend and had some fun with our YA Rebels video on The Top Ten Things Never to Say to a Writer.  We hope you enjoy!

Comments
  1. First of all I LOVE YOUR shirt! Love Fleur-delis and the bling! I am beginning to think we have the same taste 🙂 And love the 10 things not to say. That was great! The last one reminds me of my hubby LOL. In front of the screen almost every moment of the day. Great tips, girls lol! I love that you both live near each other and are able to get together to tape the videos. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  2. Thanks so much, Martha. I love it too! It’s great that we have so many fabulous authors in the Tampa/Orlando area. Such a fantastic community.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s