Read All About it!

Posted: June 14, 2016 in book birthday, new release, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

invisible library us.jpg I’m so, so excited about today’s new release, THE INVISIBLE LIBRARY by Genevieve Cogman!  Now, you may already have heard me talk about this book.  That’s because it made a big splash in the UK and is now available in the US! Already it’s made lists: The Independent’s 10 Best Fantasy Novels, Book Plank’s Best Debuts of 2015, Library Reads June 2016 Top Ten Books, Barnes & Noble’s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Books of June, Amazon’s list of top SF/F Books of June, and Bookish’s list of Summer 2016’s Must-Read Science Fiction & Fantasy Books.

And quotes!  Oh boy-howdy, do we have quotes!

“Cogman conjures visuals that scream to be brought to life by ILM and brought to the masses who – for reasons unfathomable – bypass the book stores.

Get in early and make sure you get on the I-read-the-book-before-it-was-a-movie side of the fence, you know how us readers like to be smug…” —GEEKChocolate

“The Invisible Library” is one of the most pleasurable debuts of the year.” —Upcoming 4.me

“The Invisible Library is great fun…a total geek-out for bibliophiles.”—PopVerse

“An involving, thoroughly enjoyable adventure that will bring the reader back for more.”Sci-Fi Bulletin

“The Invisible Library is an interesting mix; Sapphire and Steel meets The Unseen University by way of The Parasol Protectorate, which makes it a thoroughly entertaining mis-match and great fantasy romp.” —Starburst Magazine

“THE INVISIBLE LIBRARY is everything I could ever want out of a book” –Fantasy Book Review

“The Invisible Library is a great start of the new series, inventive and highly addicted.” —Book Plank

“Holy WOW, this is quite possibly my favourite new book of the year! Seriously, it’s kicking off an an amazingly unique series, and I just well and truly loved it!” —Reality’s a Bore

“I loved The Invisible Library and the world Cogman has created in her debut. This book is just an amazingly fun read… With The Invisible Library Cogman has set the bar high for 2015 debuts, for pure fun, enjoyment and zest for life if nothing else.” —Fantastical Librarian

Genevieve Cogman offers an addictive start to a new series…if you’re a fan of the likes of Doctor Who, Fringe or The Librarians, or in fact, just fun urban fantasy in general, you won’t want to miss this.” —The Fictional Hangout

“I absolutely loved this—steampunk flavored with truly unique mythology and a dash of the eldritch.  Such clever, creepy, elaborate worldbuilding and snarky, sexy-smart characters! Also, remote-controlled alligators. You just can’t go wrong with that.” —N.K. Jemisin, award-winning author of THE INHERITANCE TRILOGY and THE FIFTH SEASON

“This was a brilliant debut novel by Genevieve Cogman… Fans of Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series, Deborah Harkness’ Discovery of Witches trilogy, TNT’s The Librarians tv series, and book lovers in general will fall in love with the world of The Invisible Library.” —BookWyrm Reviews

But you can see for yourself!  The book is out today, and if these reviews (and the cover copy below) don’t make you want to run out and grab it for yourself, maybe you’d like to win a copy over on Ace and Roc Books’ Facebook page.  And don’t forget to look for the upcoming sequels, THE MASKED CITY and THE BURNING PAGE!

invisible library us Cover Copy:

Collecting books can be a dangerous prospect in this fun, time-traveling, fantasy adventure from a spectacular debut author.
 
One thing any Librarian will tell you: the truth is much stranger than fiction…

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, a shadowy organization that collects important works of fiction from all of the different realities. Most recently, she and her enigmatic assistant Kai have been sent to an alternative London. Their mission: Retrieve a particularly dangerous book. The problem: By the time they arrive, it’s already been stolen.

London’s underground factions are prepared to fight to the death to find the tome before Irene and Kai do, a problem compounded by the fact that this world is chaos-infested—the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic to run rampant. To make matters worse, Kai is hiding something—secrets that could be just as volatile as the chaos-filled world itself.

Now Irene is caught in a puzzling web of deadly danger, conflicting clues, and sinister secret societies. And failure is not an option—because it isn’t just Irene’s reputation at stake, it’s the nature of reality itself…

FEATURING BONUS MATERIAL: including an interview with the author, a legend from the Library, and more!

Comments
  1. This one is on my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s